Internet Safety
  Fun Things for Kids
  Discipline Children
  Adult Education
  Paula's Story
  Sylvia's Story
   Ernestina's story
  Carol's Story
  First Aid
stv logo
Home  divider  Sitemap  divider  Help  divider  Media Library  divider  Find a Partner  
Ernestina- My Education
Me outside KINGS

Me outside KINGS

Sitting at the computer desk

Sitting at the computer desk

My name is Ernestina Oheneasah and I am of 20years old. At present I live with my parents and two brothers, but previously I was living in Ghana with my grandparents. In Ghana I studies Home Economics, which included Maths, English and Social Studies.

When I come to this country, I did a foundation course called Basic Skills (16-19). This helped me gain self-confidence and gave me some ideas of what was taught in this country. My second course was called Introduction to Healthcare Studies in Nursing. That same year I was introduced to a course called ‘Keeping Up with the Kids’ in Kings College London there I achieved a full CLAIT certificate, which includes Word Processing, Excel spreadsheets, Access database, Using Computer and Internet/E-mail. The reason for doing this course was to gain more IT skills and qualifications.

The course that I am studying now is called GNVQ Health and Social Care (intermediate) at Southwark College. The reason why I have applied this course is to help me reach Access to Nursing next year September. After that I want to go to university and become a qualified paediatric nurse.

I am currently doing a voluntary work in ‘AfterSchool Club’ at Camberwell. This will help me gain experience, know how children behave, how to solve their problem for them and educate them through reading, writing and numbers.